Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Possability with Basic Stamp II? — Parallax Forums

Possability with Basic Stamp II?

blah23blah23 Posts: 4
edited 2006-03-13 20:03 in Robotics
Hi my name is Peter and Im currently attending university. Im new to robotics though I have done computer programming before and a small amount of electronics. I recently ordered the sumo competition kit with a friend (waiting until its not backordered to be shipped). But anyways back to be question.

I have a dream a building a somewhat small robot (30cm x 30cm x 30cm max size) that would basically act like a small organism ie, hide from loud nosies in the dark, but at other times prefer the sun, almost have a personality.

As far as I know I believe all of those things are possible with the Basim Stamp 2, but here is my real question.

As all living beings must do, the robot must eat/rest. So would it be possible to have sort of a docking station that the robot could go to, the docking station would be hooked up to some solar pannels in the window to provide electricity. Once the robot found the station it would dock and recharge its batteries.

But my real question is, could I make it so the robot always knew where the docking station was no matter where the robot was in the same room.

I hope that all makes sense, oh and if there is anything I assumed I could do with a Basic Stamp 2 please let me know, thanks

Comments

• LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-03-11 10:37
    The BasicStamp is a good beginning, but I would ask one question. Does your PC have a personality?
    My dog does, my computer more likely has a temperment.

Maping a room is a bit of a challenge too. I suspect that you would want to at least have the BasicStamp provide essential movement control and some [noparse][[/noparse]if no t all] of a sensor array.