Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
motorized security camera base — Parallax Forums

motorized security camera base

RocknVRocknV Posts: 7
edited 2006-03-11 04:48 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,
I'm relatively new to the forum and never worked with a Stamp.· I'm thinking about using a Prop-1 to control a motorized camera base.· I want it to pan the camera x degrees, pause for so many seconds, then pan and pause again, doing this continuously in a ~270 degree arc (i.e. it will pan back and forth, with pauses every so often).·
The camera with weatherproof housing weighs a few lbs - is there a robotic piece, like a wheel kit turned horizontal,·that parallax sells that I can use to work with a servo to make the base?· I was thinking of using a servo to drive the rotation, but I don't think a direct mount of a plate on the servo will be able to bear the weight.
I'm new at this type of project, so please excuse the basic question.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-10 05:11
    This thread is being moved from the Projects Forum to the BASIC Stamp Forum.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • kelvin jameskelvin james Posts: 531
    edited 2006-03-10 07:28
    Your current idea has a few problems. First, a servo motor does not fit the operation. Most servos will only give 120 degrees of rotation, some can do 140, an added inline extender can get 180, but that is max. You would have to go with a stepper motor, which is okay, considering the weight you want to push.