Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help deciding if BASIC STAMP will work for my project. — Parallax Forums

Need help deciding if BASIC STAMP will work for my project.

DavidMDavidM Posts: 626
edited 2006-03-03 09:01 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

My first post here, I have been doing research into micro-controllers.
I am deciding what kind of micro controller I need for my current project.

I am a 4D Database Programmer and have no problems with learning a new "basic" or "pascal style" programming that's required.
I have some electronic knowledge and have access to an electronics engineer for PCB Work.
I wish to undertake the design and programming of the hardware myself for this project.

I have looked at PICAXE, VESTA, ATMEL and also the new PROPELLOR Chip coming soon.
I have read some articles comparing BASIC STAMP to other MICRO-CONTROLLERS.
They all seem to claim that basic stamp is overpriced and under-featured and slower. but some of the reasons I am wanting to use basic stamp are as follows.

1) Australian supplier and support is available.
2) I have a MAC OSX programmer software available to use ( It must work with a mac!!) so far "MacBS2.app" is the go.
3) A very active forum ( this one ) for ongoing technical support.
4) Widely used.
5) The actual programming language. I don't want to learn C or Assembly)
6) The cost of the micro-controller doesn't worry me.

So heres some of the things I need a micro-controller to do for my project.

1) Network multiple micro-controllers together, all from a main controller module in series , The first controller may have up to 200-300 meters of cable, followed by the other controllers with say up to 50 meters of cable between them. So..

1a) What is Maximum baud speeds?
1b) How is addressing done?
1c) Maximum Distance for wiring in total and between units?
1d) Type of cable required for 2 way communication?
1e) Maximum no of micro-controllers that can be on the one cable run?
1f) Protocol RS232 or RS422??