Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Driving large 7-segment LEDs — Parallax Forums

Driving large 7-segment LEDs

dtalvacchiodtalvacchio Posts: 36
edited 2010-10-08 21:21 in BASIC Stamp
Hello--

I'm using a BS2 to build a digital clock whose digits are driven by the MAX7219. I have the clock working with 1-inch 7-segment LEDs, but I would like to use much larger (3-inch) digits. Does anyone out there have any experience with this sort of circuit? I read the Maxim AppNote for driving digits at higher than normal voltage, but as I'm very new to electronics, I'm having a hard time following how the suggested techniques work. I'd be grateful to anyone who could make this clear to me.

Thank you--
Dominick

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-01 04:39
    Dominick,

·· That App Note is exactly what you need.· What don't you understand about it?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2006-03-01 12:19
    Dominick,

Large LED digits are usually wired to have several LEDs in series. This means that the voltage needed to light them is often greater than 5volts. If the digits are NOT muliplexed you can simple switch the cathode of the string of LED to ground to light them (with the anode of the string connected to +12 (or whatever)).

It gets complicated when the digits ARE multiplexed because then you need to switch a voltage greater than 5V and that requires either a special IC (looks like the MAX7219 is limited to 5v) or two transistors.

I was working on a driver circuit for some 4" LED displays I have, but the special chip didn't work properly. I think I'm going to go back to just using transistors or FETs.

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video·Module" Now available from Parallax for only $28.95

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30012

"SX-Video OSD module" Now available from Parallax for only·$49.95