Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Please Help — Parallax Forums

Please Help

karumb2karumb2 Posts: 6
edited 2006-02-24 16:31 in BASIC Stamp
Hi group,

I am new to this and I need some help asap.·Does anyone know how I can open a text file, located on the PC and then based on
a unique number in the text file get a servo motor to turn either clock wise or counter clockwise. I know how the motor is conected and all but just need to know how to open the text file and then turn the motor based on the number in the file.

For Ex, one text file contains a 1- the servo turns clockwise, and·one text file contains a 2- the servo turns counterclockwise.

Can some one please help me as soon as possible. Your help is GREATLY appriciated!
·

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-02-23 03:57
    The concept was covered in the following thread.

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=572202

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • karumb2karumb2 Posts: 6
    edited 2006-02-23 14:32
    So there is no way to open a text file using basic stamp commands?
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-02-23 14:48
    karumb2 -

The PBASIC Stamp does not support any Windows or DOS commands, nor does it have any facility for interfacing with the Windows/DOS operating system directly. There are various methods for doing what you're looking to do indirectly however.

You could certainly write a small Windows/DOS application, or use an existing intelligent terminal program, and communicate with it using SERIN and SEROUT. Somewhat needless to say, whatever the Windows/DOS application, it would need to be running (started) before the Stamp could begin to interface with it at all.