Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SERIN Question — Parallax Forums

SERIN Question

kenwtnkenwtn Posts: 250
edited 2006-02-16 16:09 in BASIC Stamp
·· OK, So I am still a NEWBIE and they say no question is a dumb one, well I may be about to prove that wrong. Every example that I have seen with SERIN, SEROUT uses either PIN 0 or PIN 8 is there something special about those PINS or will any PIN work with SERIN, SEROUT?
·

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-02-16 12:07
    kenwtn -

Also a newbie who hasn't found the PBASIC Stamp Manual or the Stamp Editor Help file, either of which would have answered this and many other forthcoming questions. Any pin port (0-15) can be used for SERIN and SEROUT. Pin port 16 can also be used, but should be considered a special case, as it operates slightly differently.

Regards

Bruce Bates

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    <!--StartFragment -->
  • kenwtnkenwtn Posts: 250
    edited 2006-02-16 12:19
    That was part one of the question. I have a board that I want to put to LCD on. One LCD is Serial and calls for use of PIN-0 tp be connected to RX and then I have another LCD that is Parallel and calls for PIN-0 to be connected to E (Connectino-6 on the LCD). So I was wondering if I should try to use PIN-0 as a dual function PIN or simply move the Seral LCD connection to another PIN that was being unused.
    It seems that the best bet is just to move the Serial connection to PIN-0 to another PIN and change the program.
    edited 2006-02-16 12:47
    kenwtn -

Are you looking to use one or two LCD's on this board? It's hard to tell from your message.

Are both of the LCD's serially accessed, or is one serial and one parallal. If you're not sure, just give us the Catalog Number of the Parallax LCD you're using, as that will answer the question.

I suspect the Parallax LCD is parallel accessed, and you're looking to use the LCDOUT command available on the more advanced Stamp platforms. Is this correct?