Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Large Program Arrrgggggg!!!!!!!! need memory or networking experts — Parallax Forums

Large Program Arrrgggggg!!!!!!!! need memory or networking experts

Grant_OGrant_O Posts: 36
edited 2006-02-16 21:35 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone, I am relatively new to Parallax and this is my first post on this forum, but here goes... I need more flash memory!!!freaked.gif·· The program my company expects me to write for this machine·is huge. The basics of·the program·are very simple (just when one input·pin goes high three other output·pins go high with precise delay times between them of a few milliseconds). Sounds easy but they·asked me to include·interlocks for safe operation, sensors to ensure all systems·are running, maybe·data logging on those sensors,·accelerometers to detect if the translation stage has crashed, and pots to control the delays .smhair.gif·
·
I'm sure that I need more then one stamp module to run these functions. And I have thought of a few ways of getting around this problem but I really need some input! An idea that sound really good right now is networking.
·
The machine that we are building is an X-Ray CT scanner and I volunteered to do the interfacing!!
Please Help!

Comments

• Jeff DegeJeff Dege Posts: 85
    edited 2006-02-16 04:23
    If you're going to be working in this area, there is a paper you should read:

An Investigation of the Therac-25 Accidents
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2006-02-16 06:31
    Grant_O -

You don't state whether you feel you're going to need more program memory, or memory for data storage. The latter is no particular problem, as external EEPROMs can be added to the Stamp using either the I2C or SPI/Microwire protocals, as you see appropriate.