Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
photoresistor — Parallax Forums

photoresistor

HockeyHockey Posts: 7
edited 2006-02-13 21:08 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to the Basic stamp and having been trying new circuits with it for about a month now.· I have a project that I need some help with.· I would like to set up a 4x4 grid of photoresistors.· Using a laser pointer hitting each of the resistors, I would like to be able to tell when an object passes over the photoresistor and know which resistor the object passed over.· Can any one help get me started I do not think that the rctime command is what I want as all I am looking for is a simple 0 or 1 when a object passes thru the sensor.· So basically, I guess I just want help building a very simple break light sensor.
·
Thanks
Mike

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2006-02-13 01:38
    · You need to find out how low it will go.·

· You could probably use·them just·like a switch array, basically (lots of info on that,·refer to·the Nuts&Volts articles over in documents at the parallax site.)

· Photoresistors are slow, in comparison with photodiodes and phototransistors.· Cd-S, I think, are· most responsive in the yellow-green region, but I'm sure that most visible light will have an effect on them.

· To see if you can use it as an INPUT, connect the photoresistor between Input pin and Ground and connect a resistor (2.2K) between that same input pin and VDD.· Then see if you can detect anything with an INPUT instruction (this would be a LO-going voltage when the light shines on it.)

· You could trigger an OUTPUT with an LED attached to it to confirm response with.

Post Edited (PJ Allen) : 2/13/2006 1:41:15 AM GMT
  • HockeyHockey Posts: 7
    edited 2006-02-13 02:01
    Ok this is what i tried.

p2 --> to photoresister
    Vdd --> to photoresister
    photoresister --> Vss

then ran this code:

'{$stamp bs2}
    '{$pbasic 2.5}

do

debug ? in2

loop

i recieved this in the debug window

in2 = 1