Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
writing to eeprom/scratch help! — Parallax Forums

writing to eeprom/scratch help!

ddoudddoud Posts: 10
edited 2006-02-09 23:09 in BASIC Stamp
Hi-

I'm new to BS programming, but I've gotten the hang of communicating with my projects on the breadboard. What I'd like help with is how to write data to my EEPROM and Scratch pad. Basically, I'm creating a weather balloon and with all my instrumentation (temp, humidity, acceleration, etc...) I'm running out of variable space. I need a way to store a WORD variable to my scratch pad, or eeprom and reference it later - I think. Measurements are only every 5 seconds, so speed isnt really an issue, but I would like to maintain safe programming style, ie writing to the opposite side of the eeprom that my program is on, and so on.

Can anyone help me out here with any advice?

Thanks
d

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-02-09 21:15
    I wouldn't recommend using the EEPROM if you have a BS2p-family module.· To use the Scratchpad, simply decide on a storage location for you value and do this:

· PUT Storage1, Word myWord1

Note the use of the Word modifier -- you need this if you want to save a 16-bit variable.· Do note that this still requires two bytes in the Scratchpad, so if you're going to store more than one value you must take this into account.· For example:

Storage1··· CON···· 0
    Storage2··· CON···· 2
    Storage3··· CON···· 4

To retrieve a value, use GET:

· GET Storage2, Word myWord2

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • ddoudddoud Posts: 10
    edited 2006-02-09 21:20
    OK thats clear, I'll try it out.

Thanks!
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2006-02-09 21:22
    D,