Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Why IC2 ? ? ? — Parallax Forums

Why IC2 ? ? ?

kenwtnkenwtn Posts: 250
edited 2006-02-06 15:49 in BASIC Stamp
··· Ok I am a Newbie and sure do not know as much as I should about electronics. But I keep seeing and hearing about IC2 which as I understand it is 2 wire serial communications between Masters and Slaves Modules. Now for my question why is IC2 better than simple 1 one wire serial communications, other than using up another pin and running another wire? In tests I have run I have connected multiple BS2 stamps together with a single serial communication line and assigned the modules or BS2 stamps a device ID. There where no apparent problems that I could see when doing it this way VS IC2.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2006-02-05 14:43
    The main advantage is that the protocol (the format of the information transferred, the electrical specification of the pulses, etc.) is standardized (by Philips) and there are all sorts of parts out there (A/D and D/A converters, parallel port expanders, memories, etc.) that follow the standard. It's fast (400kHz) and reliable over short distances (inches) and you can daisy-chain several parts on one pair of ports since the protocol includes device addresses.
  • kenwtnkenwtn Posts: 250
    edited 2006-02-05 14:50
    So really the only advantage is Philips came up with a standard and many manufactered modules comform to that standard? Since I was able to daisy-chain a single line and make the BS2 stamp addressable by issuing something like "!' let all module know a command is coming ""A" or "B" or "C" etc. is next character sent telling which BS2 to act on the request.
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2006-02-05 15:55
    Serial communication is meant to be from one piece of equipment to another piece of equipment.

I2C is meant to be used between devices on a single piece of equipment.