Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Pin Goes Dead? — Parallax Forums

Pin Goes Dead?

LoganLogan Posts: 12
edited 2006-02-03 15:46 in BASIC Stamp
I'm in the middle of a project involving 2 stepper motors, a color sensor, a BOE, and a BS2. Thus I have been using every pin available. I noticed one of the stepper motors quit working one day (after being used in the way it had been for weeks). Upon testing with a voltimeter, I deduced that Pin 10 would not go high when the program told it to.

Is it possible for just one Pin to quit working? I'm completely new at this so have no experience. I just can't imagine why it would have stopped working now.

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-01-30 17:09
    It is if you try to drive too much current through it. What's beteen your BASIC Stamp and the stepper?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • LoganLogan Posts: 12
    edited 2006-01-30 17:13
    I have a ULN2803A transistor array.
    edited 2006-01-30 17:19
    Did you remove the ULN2803 before testing? I know from experience that you can burn up a channel on the ULN. If you look at the ULN circuitry each input has a resistor that should, theoretically, protect the Stamp I/O pin in the case of channel short.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    edited 2006-01-30 17:25
    I was testing the voltages straight off of the BS2, so the ULN shouldn't have caused any problems. But no, I hadn't removed it.
    edited 2006-01-30 17:35
    If the ULN is shorted then it could be causing a problem. Remove it and retest.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    edited 2006-01-30 17:43
    Upon removing the ULN, pin 10 still will not go high.
    edited 2006-01-30 17:59
    Before we give up on that pin, you might want to connect an LED (and resistor!) to the pin and run this simple test:

Main:
    · HIGH thePin
    · PAUSE 200
    · LOW thePin
    · PAUSE 200
    · GOTO Main