Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help needed on getting started... — Parallax Forums

Help needed on getting started...

edited 2006-01-29 01:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everybody, I'm just a beginner in this topic of microcontrollers. I am a mechanical engineer and want to have more knowledge in the field of electronics, microcontrollers, mechatronics, etc. I have experience with PLC's (Allen Bradley, GE-Fanuc, Direct Logic). To get started I have just finished reading the book Microcontroller Project Book For PICBasic and PICBasic Pro. It is base on the Microchip 16F84A MCU. I·want to learn also about MCU from Parallax because I don't want to be confined to one sole brand, after I am more prepared about them I can choose·if I want to stay with only one of them or work with both. I have bought from Parallax the following ;

Parallax BASIC Stamp 2sx Starter Kit w/BOE,

Parallax Boe-Bot Robot Kit Serial and,

Parallax BASIC Stamp WAM Kit.

I haven't recieve them yet and don't know nothing about.

I like to know from you·what's the best·route to take to learn Parallax MCU's, and recommend a book about it.·Also let me know what do you think of the items I have bought.

Lastly, is there any other brand you suggest besides Microchip and Parallax that you think is worth the time to learn also.

Thanks for you help in advance.·

Comments

• Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2006-01-26 03:45
    There are literally hundreds, if not thousands, of microcontrollers on the market. As a beginner it is probably best to focus more on the general concepts vs. in-depth architecture of any particular model. Generally speaking, you will want to look at learning Basic, Assembly, and C. These three languages will probably cover 99+% of what you will work with. Which one you learn/use will depend on the platform.