Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Pulse Generator. I have the pulse ...now what? — Parallax Forums

Pulse Generator. I have the pulse ...now what?

LaggLagg Posts: 4
edited 2006-01-24 23:22 in BASIC Stamp
As you can no doubt tell by the title, Im very new to the world of component electronics, although I am a freelance programmer and cs student. That is why instead of building a 100+ part pulse generator, I decided to use a parallax homework board and program my way to the result.

so far generating the pulse is easy

do

FREQOUT 9, 36000, 930

loop

what I can't quite figure out is how to get that pulse back into the main current I am running. I need a current 6v @ 900hz (amps really doesn't matter, I'm at the mercy of a 6v lantern battery). The output from the board is only around 3v.

I'm thinking a transistor, using the board output as the gate, but would that get what I want? 900hz seems awefully fast to be switching on/off.

Thanks all!

Comments

• metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2006-01-24 22:28
    How about a mosfet 2N7000 , this one up to 350mA Similar mosfets over 10 amps if you need that high. Only 5 nanoseconds turn on and 7 nanoseconds turn off so a billion / 12 is 83.3 million, so unless you want to go over say 40 mhz you will be just fine.

Perhaps just use a 555 timer, simple instructions on this site a few caps and resistors and your done.

http://www.st.com/stonline/products/literature/ds/10202/2N7000.pdf