Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I2C On A BASIC Stamp? — Parallax Forums

I2C On A BASIC Stamp?

qummyqummy Posts: 16
edited 2006-02-21 15:05 in BASIC Stamp
hello all, i'm a beginner. i need to know is it possible to program software I2C( inter integrated circuit) using basic stamp.

Post Edited By Moderator (Jon Williams (Parallax)) : 1/19/2006 4:17:25 PM GMT

Comments

• LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-01-19 16:13
    Yes, but you need one of the more recent Stamps to do it well. The BS24p works. Take a look at the Programming manual on-line for a good answer

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "When all think alike, no one is thinking very much.' - Walter Lippmann (1889-1974)

······································································ Warm regards,····· G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse]·黃鶴 ]·in Taiwan
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-01-19 16:20
    You can, in fact, use the I2C protocol on any BS2-family Stamp.· If you have a BS2p-family module, I2C is built into the language.· If you have a BS2, BS2e, or BS2sx you can synthesize the protocol in code as the attached example (from StampWorks)·illustrates.

Note -- make sure you add a subject title when you start a new thread so you'll get more responses (I fixed this thread for you).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-01-19 16:29
    I thought so. The I2C has the ability to slow down and wait. Still it is a lot easier to get started with pre-written code.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "When all think alike, no one is thinking very much.' - Walter Lippmann (1889-1974)

······································································ Warm regards,····· G. Herzog [noparse][[/noparse]·黃鶴 ]·in Taiwan

Post Edited (Kramer) : 1/21/2006 5:10:56 PM GMT
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2006-01-19 17:54