Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BASIC STAMP II + USB Cx — Parallax Forums

BASIC STAMP II + USB Cx

RfRf Posts: 11
edited 2006-01-12 01:47 in BASIC Stamp
Hi guys,

I am a newbie with the Stamp so I need your help.
Using the Stampworks development board, I am trying to communicate with my Stamp to turn a led on/off following the suggestions from some of your postings of going from simple to complex.

The board came with a USB cable and it is my understanding that this is a serial kind of commnication as well. In my case, I am using COM8. When I send the following code to the EEPROM using the Parallax Basic Stamp Editor (COM8), it works like a champ but when I use VB .NET it doesn't. The .NET code is very simple and it uses a class that allows to send and read data via COM ports. If needed, I will post the VB code in future postings. Here is the code from the Parallax Editor:

'···· {$STAMP BS2}
'···· {$PBASIC 2.5}
·
command VAR Byte
ledOut4 PIN 4
x1····· VAR·· Nib
·
·
One:
FOR x1 = 1 TO 5
HIGH ledOut4
PAUSE 500
LOW ledOut4
PAUSE 500
NEXT
GOTO Main
·
Main:
·
command = 0
SERIN 16, 16780, [noparse][[/noparse]command]
PAUSE 500
BRANCH command, [noparse][[/noparse]One]
PAUSE 500
GOTO Main

Thank you in advance! smile.gif

Roger

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-01-09 22:12
    If using COM8 and the BS2 IDE it works, then you've validated your hardware.

The only thing wrong now must be your software... The VB .NET may help.

Oh, and note when you open a serial port in Windows (using Hyperterm, for example) it has a nasty tendency to keep DTR active. DTR is the reset signal for the BS2. Now, the BOE board has a couple of capacitors to decouple the reset signal -- but when Hyperterm comes up, it still resets it once.

I think you need to 'attach' the VB code to a message and let us see it.
  • RfRf Posts: 11
    edited 2006-01-09 22:37
    Hi Allan,