Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I2C not working on P8 — Parallax Forums

I2C not working on P8

ShawnMackShawnMack Posts: 4
edited 2006-01-07 22:29 in BASIC Stamp
I'm stumped but I'm also fairly new at this so I shouldn't be surprised. I’ve hooked up the external EPROM (24LC32A) that came with my kit. I copied the code with LCD and Eprom interface routines in it and fired it up. The LCD displays the data it’s supposed to but the only data that comes back from the Eprom is 255.
·
Not easily deterred I double checked all my jumpers, heeding the warning about pulling up the SDA and SCL, still nothing.
·
I radically shortened the code to write a single known value (83) to address 0 and then retrieve it, still value 255.
·
Eventually I removed my LCD and rewired the I2C to P0 & P1 instead of P8 and P9 viola it works perfectly. Any idea why this would happen? Is there something I needed to do to force 8&9 to be I2C?
·
I’ve tried writing data with 0&1 and reading it with 8&9 and got 255. Interestingly I wrote data with 8&9 then tried reading it with 0&1 and got my test values!
·
Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated, as I’d really like to get my LCD back.

Comments

• ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2006-01-07 14:50
    How about posting your code and a schematic so we can help you.
  • ShawnMackShawnMack Posts: 4
    edited 2006-01-07 22:08
    Sample code
    ' {$STAMP BS2p}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}
    ' {$PORT COM1}
    ' =========================================================================
    ' -----[noparse][[/noparse] Program Description ]---------------------------------------------
    '
    ' Writes to and reads from I2C EEPROM. Data is displayed in debug.
    '
    ' -----[noparse][[/noparse] I/O Definitions ]-------------------------------------------------
    '
    I2Cpin PIN 0 ' SDA on 8; SCL on 9
    '
    ' -----[noparse][[/noparse] Constants ]-------------------------------------------------------
    '