Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Noob RC Timer question — Parallax Forums

Noob RC Timer question

edited 2006-01-03 16:22 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm just getting started with the Basic Stamp by following the experiments in the StampWorks manual. My knowledge of electronics, in and of itself, is fairly limited. Experiment #5, the LED graph, uses an RC Timer circuit. I've been reading a fair bit and remembering bits from high school physics, but am stuck understanding how it works.

I understand how a capacitor works, sort of, and understand that it gets discharged with HIGH15, and then gets recharged, and RCTIME is used to identify how long it takes to recharge the capacitor. I understand that the potentiometer is a variable resistor.

Here are my questions:

1. How does 'HIGH PotPin' discharge the capacitor?
2. Why is the additional 220 ohm resistor required?
3. How is it possible that pin 15 can be used to both discharge the capacitor, AND calculate the charging time?
4. How does the potentiometer change the charging time?

I realize some of this may be fundamental -- any help would be appreciated, even other documents.

I will also admit that I have little understanding of the relationship between current and voltage, if that sort of fundamental material is available in the Basic Stamp documents, I have not seen it yet.

Thanks, I know this is alot.

Robert

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2006-01-03 07:16
    Try some of this. http://www.play-hookey.com/dc_theory/ (this was just a quick search but there is more out there. Get the basics first then go for it.
  • edited 2006-01-03 07:18
    Thanks for the info... by "get the basics first then go for it" are you saying what I think is true, that is, I haven't got the basics? Yeah, I thought so too.
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-01-03 15:16