Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stepper Motor Question — Parallax Forums

Stepper Motor Question

neotericneoteric Posts: 144
edited 2006-01-05 19:23 in Robotics
I am rebuilding an old heathkit robot, replacing the components with a basic stamp 2.5 with boebot board.

I am new to all of this, but have a good understanding.· This question is if anyone has worked with this type of stepper motor, and how to add a 12v item to the Stamp.· The stepper motor is 12v, and was made by ECM Motors, Inc., which had no data on its old motors.

it has six wires coming from the base, 3 on each side.· (2 sets of 3)· White Black and Yellow.· (total of six wires)

I understand in general, from reading all day, the concept of how a stepper motor works.· there are a total of eight stepper motors, but I am currently only interested in the two that are as I just described, as they are almost impossible to get to.· The others I will probably replace with the single line stepper sold here.

Anybody got knowledge or an educated guess on what a schematic might be.

PS (I understand that the Stamp puts out a regulated 5v, so I will be using an external supply for the motor.· But I want to control it's lines from the stamp.)

Thanks to anyone who helps me.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-12-30 07:55
    Hello,

·· Is this a HERO-1?· If so, it's a classic and legendary robot which would be worth a lot more restored.· If you're really going to rebuild it though, then schematics should be easy to find via Google, since these are collectors items, and I have seen more than a few web pages with lots of information.

Stepper Motors with·6 wires are usually Unipolar 4-phase with two common wires.· Should be easy enough to find out with an Ohm-meter.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • neotericneoteric Posts: 144
    edited 2005-12-30 13:06
    Thanks for your reply