Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with Adjusting infared vision — Parallax Forums

Help with Adjusting infared vision

A.C. fishingA.C. fishing Posts: 262
edited 2006-03-10 22:05 in Robotics
Hello. I'm very new to Robotics and programming. I have a Boe- Bot. I'm using the following code so the boe-bot chases targets of its own choice. My boe-bot "sees" targets using Infared vision.
How can I change it so the Infared isn't as sensitive, and only "sees" life and power sources, so it only chases them. Any ideas. thanks.
P.S. The scematic I'm using is the same as on the Boe-Bot's manual cover.
' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

irDetectLeft  VAR Bit
irDetectRight VAR Bit
pulseLeft VAR Word
pulseRight VAR Word

'---------[noparse][[/noparse]Initialization]------------------------------------------------

DEBUG "Attack Program Running!!"
FREQOUT 4, 2000, 3000

'-------[noparse][[/noparse]Main Routine}----------------------------------------------------

Main:

DO

PULSOUT 13,790
  PULSOUT 12, 790
  GOSUB Check_IRs
LOOP UNTIL (irDetectLeft = 0) OR (irDetectRight = 0)

DO
IF  (irDetectLeft = 0) AND (irDetectRight = 0)  THEN
  pulseLeft = 850
  pulseRight = 650
ELSEIF (irDetectLeft = 0) THEN
 pulseLeft = 650
 pulseRight = 650
ELSEIF (irDetectRight = 0) THEN
 pulseLeft = 850
 pulseRight = 850
 ELSE
 pulseLeft = 850
 pulseRight = 650
 ENDIF

PULSOUT 13, pulseLeft
 PULSOUT 12, pulseRight
 PAUSE 15

GOSUB Check_IRs
 LOOP

'--------[noparse][[/noparse] Subroutines ] ---------------------------------------------------------------

Check_IRs:
 FREQOUT 8, 1, 38500
 irDetectLeft = IN9
 FREQOUT 2, 1, 38500
 IrDetectRight = IN0
 RETURN

Comments

• Ken GraceyKen Gracey Posts: 7,386
    edited 2005-12-26 23:33
    Dear AC Fishing,

To adjust the sensitivity of the infrared receivers/emitters you can do a couple of things:

- use a larger resistor between the IR LED and the I/O pin to decrease IR power OR