Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can Someone Give Me Hand — Parallax Forums

Can Someone Give Me Hand

JustSomeGuyJustSomeGuy Posts: 8
edited 2005-12-28 23:36 in BASIC Stamp
First off I'd like to state that I'm new to microcontrollers and fairly new to electronics. Now,·I've made a simple Transistor On/Off circuit identical to the one on page 265 of the "What's a Microcontroller?" book. This circuit works well, however when I use external batteries in place of Vdd and Vss my circuit doesn't work. The difference between the Vdd and Vss terminals I believe is 5v, so I've tried 1.5v, 3v, 6v, and 9v batteries, none of which has produced any results. Ive tried two types of transistors 2N3904 (the one included with the kit) and some I picked up from radioshack labeled "NPN type switching transistors". Eventually I will use this circuit with the 6v battery (4 AA batteries in series) to drive a small dc motor, however I'm currently troubleshooting on an led.

I've spent about an entire day working on this little problem and any help would be much appreciated. I've been researching transistor circuits and searching this forum looking for some snippet to help me but have not found my problem.

Thanks in advance

·

Comments

• BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-12-23 03:00
    JSG,
    Do you have the grounds connected together ? That is the ground of the power supply for the stamp and the ground of the battery power supply ? I assume you are using two different power sources ?

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "SX-Video·Module" Now available from Parallax for only $28.95

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30012

"SX-Video OSD module" Now available from Parallax for only·$49.95
    http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30015

Product web site: www.sxvm.com

Forget about the past, plan for the future, and live for today.
    ·
  • JustSomeGuyJustSomeGuy Posts: 8
    edited 2005-12-23 03:08
    haha Thank You
    That worked