Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Multi-CPU-System based on BS2 — Parallax Forums

Multi-CPU-System based on BS2

andreas6583andreas6583 Posts: 17
edited 2006-01-13 08:31 in BASIC Stamp
Hi !

I´am currently working on a multi-BS2p-system for larger model ships, using the I2C for a system bus and a couple of M24c65 EEPROMs as a blackboard for information and program interchange between the BS2p.
I wonder if anybody has any experience with I2C bus based inter-BS2 communication. Is there a way to switch a BS2p to "Slave Receiver Mode" other than creating a new subroutine for that ?
Using the blackboard works just fine and the I2C protocols manage the traffic magnificently with the help of a PCF8574 (I2C 8-Bit-I/O) as a basic IRC (POLL-commands for interrupt control). But a direct link for faster information interchange (e.g. for navigation or fast command transmission when the system is used in fast moving robots)...

Since I am not that experienced with the BS2 yet, it really would help me a lot if I could find some people to discuss this project and to get in touch with some other BS2 enthusiasts !!!

Thanks very much in advance !!!

Andreas

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-12-15 13:48
    The BASIC Stamp is a great I2C master, but I don't think you'll find it able to be programmed as an I2C slave. The problem is that the clocking of data if faster than the BASIC Stamp can receive a bit, assemble it into a temporary byte and ultimately do something with it. If you're going to have a Stamp-to-Stamp network then open-mode serial is the way to go.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2005-12-15 15:13
    Andreas,
    Maybe you can use one BS2p as a master, that is connected to the EEPROM and have the other BS2P communicate with the master via open-mode serial to get/store data from the EEPROM.
    Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔