Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Programing my Basic STAMP — Parallax Forums

Programing my Basic STAMP

BlaineBlaine Posts: 6
edited 2005-12-19 00:24 in BASIC Stamp
I am doing a physics project for school (I am a tenth grade student) I the project I have in mind is to have a distance meter that reports back how far the object is, and instead of it saying "ten inches away" I want it to emit a tone, or .wav, whatever. The affect I want is to be able to swing my hands in the "path" of the sensor @ different closenesses to achive the abiltiy to make a song or something. Sorry if someone has already asked this [noparse]:([/noparse]

So a coupla questions are-
Can this be done with a basic STAMP?
Can I get help programming this?
Would I use the PING(((( sensor?

Thanks, and I hope you guys can help!

blaine

EDIT: I have seen this http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=529852 and that is helpful, so I guess the tone emitting on the programing side still needs to be addressed

EDIT: I would also like to put a analog meter for looks(IE it would spike when I put my hand infront of it. search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&fstype=1&catref=C6&from=R10&fcl=3&satitle=analog+meter&sacat=4659%26catref%3DC6&bs=Search&fsop=2%26fsoo%3D2&coaction=compare&copagenum=1&coentrypage=search&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D2&sadis=200&fpos=ZIP%2FPostal&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=

Post Edited (Blaine) : 12/14/2005 10:43:32 PM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-12-14 22:45
    Blaine,

·· Sure you could use the PING))) sensor.· The only thing I think may or may not be a problem for you is that you will have to take a reading from the PING))) then play a tone.· The farther away an object it, the longer it takes the PING))) to return a response (longer pulse).· You will have a small delay between tones, and the tones themselves may have to be a fixed length or you will be restarting a tone over and over.