Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How do I get acurate power? — Parallax Forums

How do I get acurate power?

InteractivesInteractives Posts: 83
edited 2005-12-13 22:50 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, My name is Jennifer, and I have just made a sobering realization about "wall wart" power supplies- or AC to DC wall mount power transformers. I work in a shop that has many many projects running on Stamps (BS2). Usually, to power these projects, I use a run of the mill, 500mA Universal AC adaptor. They have adjustable output between 1.5 to 12 VDC. I noticed right away that when set on 12VDC the voltage read 19.26, when set on 9vdc = 14.11v, 7.5 VDC = 11.80 at so forth and so on. It kind of made me scratch my head, but usually I would just wire up my VIN with the transformer set to 7.5 VDC, which was 11.80 in reality. Some time passed, and I was shocked to find that one of my projects, which I am making for a museum to have on 24/7- mysteriously died. I replaced the STAMP, and it came back to life. It has occured to me, that I might very well be up a creek with this- I have several projects wired up with these power supplies. It has only recently come to my attention, when I ordered 45 illuminated push buttons with 6volt LEDs, that when I actually use a 6V power supply, things tend to burn up. What is a girl to do? If it really doenst output 6volt, why in the world would it say 6vdc output? How am I supposed to actually get these voltages? Am I up a creek, or what?

Comments

• GenesisGenesis Posts: 42
    edited 2005-12-13 16:38
    Wall Warts are typically unregulated supplies.

A voltage regulator will take care of this. The Stamp has one on-chip, but it has limited current capability. You can get an inexpensive +5V regulator at Radio Shack which will turn that unregulated power into nice clean regulated +5VDC, which the Stamp (and your LEDs, etc) can then "eat".