Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Switch a relay on every 2 seconds — Parallax Forums

Switch a relay on every 2 seconds

dakota77dakota77 Posts: 23
edited 2005-12-12 09:26 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm using basic stamp to do aerial photography.
I would like to write a little applet to switch a relay on every 2 seconds. (This relay drives a photo camera).

I'm new to Bstamp, I suppose this type of code has already been written.

Could you give me a few advices to write down this code ?

Thanks for your help
Mario

·

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2005-12-09 16:11
    Mario,

Very easy to do. You will need a transistor to switch the realy, and a diode to protect the Stamp from EMF generated by the relay coil.

You should download a copy of "What's a Microcontroller". It has all the information you will need. The code, if all the Stamp is doing is activating thr camera, would be very simple, pehaps something like this:

main:
    pause 2000 ' Wait for 2 seconds
    HIGH 0 ' Set this number to whichever Stamp pin is connected to the relay

GOTO main

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.madlabs.info - Home of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Robot
  • Steve RennellsSteve Rennells Posts: 40
    edited 2005-12-09 16:13
    I think I saw an article in Nuts & Volts about this a few months back. They printed some of the pictures the camera took. I can't remember if any code was listed, tho.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-12-09 16:26
    Jonathan,

·· Your code never de-energizes the relay.· It should read:

Relay  PIN  0

DO
      HIGH Relay
      PAUSE 100
      LOW Relay
      PAUSE 1900
    LOOP

The relay only needs to be energized briefly, then de-energized.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2005-12-09 16:31
    Chris,