Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Maze Project for the Boe-Bot??? Help! — Parallax Forums

Maze Project for the Boe-Bot??? Help!

JbekkevoldJbekkevold Posts: 3
edited 2010-06-28 17:58 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I am a teacher working with the Boe-Bots for high school and middle school students. I designed a wood maze (approximately 4x6 feet)·for the students to program their boe-bots. We used the maze for a dead reckoning project but now I would like to see if we could use the maze via the infrareds. I need help in directing the students since the maze is a little complicated with mostly 90 degree turns to the left or right. Can someone direct me in the right spot to help me out? What program would be the best to use? The maze is not painted, however the floor is on a white board and the sides which are aprroximately 3 inches are just plain wood.

Comments

• edited 2005-12-06 05:06
    It would be best if the students completed Chapter 7 in Robotics with the Boe-Bot before attempting infrared navigation of the maze.· It is not necessary for them to do Chapter 6 before they get to chapter 7.· Chapter 5 on the other hand, does help for understanding chapter 7, but it's not crucial.· The program that's most likely to succeed in the maze·is in Chapter 7, Activity #5.

The trick with mazes like yours is to experiment with the resistors that go in series with the IR LEDs.· Larger resistors will make the Boe-Bot more nearsighted, smaller ones make it more far sighted.· In the kind of maze you are working with, there's typically a nearsighted sweet-spot that will make it possible for the Boe-Bot to make its way through the maze without getting stuck.·

Another important element is how the IR LEDs are directed.· If they are both pointing straight ahead,·the Boe-Bot·might not see a wall on the side before it bumps into it.· By pointing both·IR LEDs slightly outward, the Boe-Bot should detect both side and front·walls.·