Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Combining Strings... — Parallax Forums

Combining Strings...

starionstarion Posts: 27
edited 2005-11-29 20:06 in BASIC Stamp
I racked my brain, tried 30 different ways of doing it and still couldn't get it to work. Here's what I'm trying to do in a nutshell:

Here is the data I am working with:

counter VAR WORD ' A number from 0000 to 9999.

fixedword DATA "theword" ' Just a word.

I am trying to created a concatenated string with the end result being:

"0000theword" and each increment of the counter would be "0001theword", "0002theword" and so on.

Ultimately I will be sending this string out a serial port, but for now, I would be happy just to get them combined and output them as a DEBUG command. I'm sure this is an easy thing, but I'm fairly new to this and haven't quite got my syntax down.

Quick word of advice anyone? This is a BS2.

Post Edited (Starion) : 11/27/2005 4:04:20 PM GMT

Comments

• TiboTibo Posts: 81
    edited 2005-11-27 16:15
    I'd say use a word array like this, hope it helps (here i used word to respect your precise needs but no need, use bytes instead).
    ' {$STAMP BS2e}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}
    '
    ' Concatenation Example
    '

str1    VAR Word 'Stores the first string to concatenate
    str2    VAR Word 'Stores the second string to concatenate
    concat  VAR Word(2) 'Stores the resulting string of the concatenation process

'---------------------------------------------

main:
      str1=65'"a"
      str2=66'"b"
      GOSUB concatenate
      GOSUB debug_output
      END

concatenate:
      concat(0)=str1
      concat(1)=str2
      RETURN

debug_output:
      DEBUG HOME, "str1:", str1," str2:", str2," concat:",concat(0),concat(1), CR
      RETURN

Post Edited (Tibot) : 11/27/2005 4:28:13 PM GMT
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-11-27 16:56