Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stupid Newb Q: Need a ~20hz clock input — Parallax Forums

Stupid Newb Q: Need a ~20hz clock input

jmccormjmccorm Posts: 16
edited 2005-12-15 02:08 in BASIC Stamp
I have a segment of code that needs to be run at regular intervals. Something close to 20 times per second is good. Unfortunately, because of the branching in the code, the run-length is not predictable, so I just can't insert a regular delay. Trying to time out multiple delays for the branches would not give me the precision I need.

I'm a good programmer, but an electronics idiot. Is there a low component count/cost way that I can get myself a ~20hz clock onto one of my pins? If an operation is necessary to clear the pin, that is fine.

I'm thinking some easy combination of resistors and capacitors might do it, but as I said, I'm an electronics idiot. I'd rather avoid a 555 chip if possible because I need to keep the component count low. (I've already crammed too many things onto my breadboard.)

The idea here is that I've got to take a button input, say, every 1/20th of a second (or an interval close to that... I don't care too much as long as it is REGULAR). That gets stored to an external eeprom. Later, it has to play it back with the exact timing it was recorded at.

Low end for recording would be 1/15th or so of a second. 1/50th of a second at the high end would be overkill but acceptable.

PSEUDOCODE FOR RECORD:
While [noparse][[/noparse] other activity is going on in support chip ]
Wait for clock signal
Clear clock if necessary
Read byte from I2C EEPROM
Read bit state from button
Is the button in a different state than the bit that is recorded in a position in the EEPROM byte?
If so, store the modified byte back to EEPROM
End While

PSEUDOCODE FOR PLAYBACK:
While [noparse][[/noparse] other activity is going on in support chip ]
Wait for clock signal
Clear clock if necessary
Read byte from I2C EEPROM
Output nibble of byte to pins 12-15
End While

Comments