Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
EMIC Sound/DS1620 Digital Thermometer Help! — Parallax Forums

EMIC Sound/DS1620 Digital Thermometer Help!

GeraldGerald Posts: 10
edited 2005-11-29 21:32 in BASIC Stamp
I'm a newbie, so apologies up front for asking questions with obvious (to everyone but me) answers.

I have an EMIC text to sound module and a DS1620 IC.· I also have a Homework Board and a Boad of Education along with some experimenter breadboards.·

I've assembled both modules separately up till now but would like to combine the modules on a single breadboard with the ultimate goal of having the EMIC module announce the temperature.

My first task is to combine the circuitry on one board.· Is this a simple matter of combining the two modules using the attached diagrams on one board?· I notice that both share pin P0.· Is this a problem?· My goal, of course, is to combine the two on one board safely so I don't zap any components.

I'll then try to tackle the programming issues which I will obviously need some help with here.·

Is there any documentation that has already been developed to accomplish this project? I'm aware of the "DS1302 Real Time Clock with SX Video module display modification"·project in the project forum, but it's a bit too daunting for me to make the translation.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Gerald
Amateur Radio Operator KD4EQZ
274 x 259 - 3K
548 x 341 - 6K

Comments

• Mike CookMike Cook Posts: 829
    edited 2005-11-22 17:39
    Should be fairly simple if you take the development in small steps, if I was going to tackle this project I would do it this way:

1. Using the DS1620 example code, build the circuit as described and get that working. Then move the speaker to a different I/O pin, for example 12, and modify the program so it works like the original. You didn't post any of the code, or a link to it, so your on your own in that respect.