Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Checking multiple inputs — Parallax Forums

Checking multiple inputs

Oper8r AlOper8r Al Posts: 98
edited 2005-11-21 05:28 in BASIC Stamp
I have Quadravox sound module set up so I can tigger sounds with a four button remote. There are also two toggle switches to select between four different themes. I am still learning and was using some things I had available. I'm sure this isn't the best way to·program it but I was just happy I got it to work. ·Here is the Code I am using to check the remote buttons:

·Check_RemBtns:
·· IF IN15=1 THEN
··· LOOKUP sound, [noparse][[/noparse]remBtnA], phrase
·· GOSUB Say_Phrase
··· DEBUG "Remote Button A.",CR
··· DO : LOOP WHILE (QV_Busy = IsBusy)
·· ELSEIF IN14=1 THEN
··· LOOKUP sound, [noparse][[/noparse]remBtnD], phrase
·· GOSUB Say_Phrase
··· DEBUG "Remote Button D.",CR
·· ELSEIF IN13=1 THEN
··· LOOKUP sound, [noparse][[/noparse]remBtnC], phrase
·· GOSUB Say_Phrase
··· DEBUG "Remote Button C.",CR
·· ELSEIF IN12=1 THEN
··· LOOKUP sound, [noparse][[/noparse]remBtnB], phrase
·· GOSUB Say_Phrase
··· DEBUG "Remote Button B.",CR
·· ENDIF
· RETURN

I plan on removing the debug lines. I had them there so I could see if the buttons were being read. I was wondering how I could use something like Jon Williams had suggested in this post. http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=558282

I know I would have to change it so it reads IN12-15 instead of IN0-3, but I'm not clear on how I can get the program to· trigger the sounds when the buttons are pressed.

I hope this makes sense. If it helps I can post the whole program.

Thanks
Alan

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-11-16 14:14
    You might try this.· It will wait until at least one of the inputs on P12-P15 (IND) goes high, then it will select the file based on the highest button pressed (in case two are pressed at once).· That's what DCD is used for.

Check_RemBtns:
    · DO
    ··· select = DCD IND