Addressing an individual pin in a loop

ShmuelShmuel Posts: 14
edited 2005-11-16 01:22 in BASIC Stamp
Toward the begining of my code I have

BUTTON1 VAR IN1
BUTTON0 VAR IN0

Button1Pressed VAR Bit
Button0Pressed VAR Bit

Now I'm trying to write a subroutine to poll for activity on each switch. Because of the possibility of someone pressing and holding the button, as opposed to pressing and releasing in one cycle, I've decided to write my own routine. (Unless you have something better to recommend.)

Instead of writing a subroutine for each button, I want to have one subroutine poll every button. In pseudo-pseudocode, I'd think it would look like this.

FOR count = 0 TO 1 

[indent]IF (BUTTON.count = 1) THEN    'I also tried IN.count  
Button|"count"|Pressed = 1
ENDIF
[/indent]

NEXT

The crux of the problem is using the loop counter in a statement that refers to a specific pin. I'd rather avoid a SELECT statement.

I'm new to Pbasic so it's possible I'm overlooking an instruction.

I'd appreciate your help

Thanks,
Shmuel

Comments

• Ryan ClarkeRyan Clarke Posts: 738
    edited 2005-11-15 23:21
    Are you only using two buttons? You may try reading in the value of the INH or INL and bit-masking off the pins that aren't possible (i.e. not button inputs)-

Really depends on the larger scope of the program...

Ryan

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Ryan Clarke
    Parallax Tech Support

RClarke@Parallax.com
  • Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-11-15 23:25
    Using PBASIC keywords as variable names is not a good idea -- it will quickly lead to programming errors.

I frequently scan multiple inputs with a subroutine.· The code usually looks like this:

Get_Btns:
    · btns = %0011
    · FOR idx = 1 TO 5
    ··· btn1 = btn1 & IN0
    ··· bnt2 = btn2·& IN1
    ··· PAUSE 5
    · NEXT
    · RETURN