Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Radio frequency beacons for the blind. — Parallax Forums

Radio frequency beacons for the blind.

CrystalionxCrystalionx Posts: 18
edited 2005-11-24 14:52 in BASIC Stamp
I am trying to develop an RF beacon for blind people at the school where I am studying electronics technology.· My idea was to identify certain points with morse code signals - and then transmit the signals from one BS2 (transmitter) to another (receiver) utilizing the RF digital components.· For this purpose, I first adapted the basic Parallax alarm signal code to produce the dit-dat 'A' morse code letter, as can be seen below.· I had the belief that this program could be represented as a string and transmitted by means of the SEROUT Command.· If this is indeed possible, how can the morse code signal and the SEROUT command be combined.· If this is not possible, is there any way to send a morse code signal by means of ASCII or other data transmission?· I did not notice a morse code program in the control and command projects book, but I never got that to operate - though I might go back to it if there are no other suggestions.· Anyway, as Dave from Parallax has suggested, I am open to all possibilities should anyone of the forum wish to comment.· Thanks.

By the way, I am the same guy who had the problem with getting the sonar ranger to beep at specific distances - I appreciate your help in that regard and that component will, hopefully, be part of the RF beacon system.

' What's a Microcontroller - ActionTones.bs2
' Demonstrate how different combinations of pause, duration, and frequency
' can be used to make sound effects.
'{$STAMP BS2}
'{$PBASIC 2.5}
DO
·
duration VAR Word
frequency VAR Word
DEBUG "Alarm...", CR
PAUSE· 500
FREQOUT 9, 250, 1500
PAUSE 500
FREQOUT 9, 750, 1500
·
LOOP
·
' SEROUT.BS1
' This program transmits the string "ABCD" followed by a number and a
' carriage-return at 1200 baud, inverted, N81 format.
·
·
·
SYMBOL· SOut··········· = 1