Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
5v regulator connection on BOE — Parallax Forums

5v regulator connection on BOE

ToborgToborg Posts: 22
edited 2005-11-19 03:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am a newbie here and have a simple question. From what I have read supply voltage going into vin of·the bs2 needs to be a·regulated 5v. I am trying to replicate the Board of education regulator circuit in a smaller package for a project. From the schematic of the serial board of education it looks like the vin from the battery goes straight in to the vin of the bs2, before the 5v regulator.·Is that correct? ·I know this is probably a silly question, but I wanted to make sure that I did not damage my stamp. I have attached the schematic. Any assistance would be great.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-11-14 16:17
    There are 2 voltage pins on the BASIC Stamp, Vin and Vdd.· Vin can handle 5.5 volts to 15 volts on the BASIC Stamp 2.· Vdd would require a regulated 5 volts if you used that.· You wouldn't use these both at the same time.· This link should help explain it.

http://www.parallax.com/html_pages/tech/faqs/fctl_info.asp#VIN%20Pin%20use

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-11-14 17:17
    Actually, the BS2 has an on-board regulator. It gets its input from Vin, and outputs on Vdd. It's good for about 100 mA max -- 50 mA would be better, and the BS2 hardware takes about 5 mA.

So, if all you need is another 40 mA or so, you can use the on-BS2 voltage regulator.

If you decide to have an external regulator (which is a good idea, by the way) then you feed the output of the external regulator to Vdd of the BS2, and leave Vin disconnected.

In either case, make sure the 'ground' line is connected to Vss. Vss is the 'ground' for the BS2, regulators, and signal ground for the SERIN/SEROUT/DEBUG signals.