Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial Communications Question — Parallax Forums

Serial Communications Question

outerspaceouterspace Posts: 2
edited 2005-11-10 13:50 in BASIC Stamp
I am working on a little project in which I will need to collect·serial data from a gps and a·temp sensor.· I am currently working with a PC104 board and I am wondering if·a basic stamp could do the same for a much lower cost.· I have no experience with basic stamp or microcontrollers and I am a bit overwhelmed with all of the information out there on the basic stamp.· The overall system needs to read in data from a gps, read in data from a temperature sensor, combine these two data strings, and send the new string out to an amateur radio modem for transmission.· It also needs to monitor the incomming data from the modem and watch for control commands which will activate relays.· If anyone out there could give me some directions/solutions to this issue it would be most helpful.

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2005-11-09 20:16
    Hi,

What you're looking to do is fairly simple.

I can send you some code clips if you'd like to try things out.

Which GPS sentences are you going to use? just the basic lat-long stuff or do you have a more sophisticated unit which can output some of the optional sentences?

What kind of temperature device are you using?

Finally, what is the modem expecting in terms of speed, etc.?

Cheers,

Tom
  • steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-11-09 21:13
    Stamptrol is right...the more info you give us...the better we can help you!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·

Steve

"Inside each and every one of us is our one, true authentic swing. Something we was born with. Something that's ours and ours alone. Something that can't be learned... something that's got to be remembered."
  • outerspaceouterspace Posts: 2
    edited 2005-11-09 21:39
    Hello, Thanks for your reply!

To answer your questions...