Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I'm Newbie: I have a process in my lab. I want stamp to call me on the phone wh — Parallax Forums

I'm Newbie: I have a process in my lab. I want stamp to call me on the phone wh

CesarChemECesarChemE Posts: 4
edited 2005-11-18 15:33 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone:

I have a very simple application (simple for experienced individuals).

I am a chemical engineer and I have a process in the lab which has an alarm. When the alarm goes off I want to get to the lab as soon as possible. This alarm can be a DC signal (any voltage -·say 5V).

I want stamp to call me on the phone when it receives this signal as input. How do I do this? What kind of equipment do I need? I imagine I need a modem (The Cermetek CH1786A modem???)

I have my own BS2-IC and·BOE, but I don't want to use·them for the lab.·Because I am just going to be using Stamp for this, what module·and·board should I purchase so that is the most economical.

Can someone also include the code that I need to get this going. I thank you in advance for a thorough explanation and help, because I am very new at all this.

Thank you,

Cesar B. Granda
cesar@tamu.edu

·

Comments

• Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-11-08 15:21
    This reference may help you, http://www.emesystems.com/BS2modem.htm courtesy of Tracy Allen, modems are typically used to dial up other modems, how do you plan on the device communicating with you, by just recognizing the caller ID number?

Another solution would be to have an internet connected BS2 to send you either an email to your university account or a SMS text message to your cell phone if your company has an internet SMS interface (Sprint does).

Here's another link: http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/appmod/stampmodem.PDF

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·1+1=10

Post Edited (Paul Baker) : 11/8/2005 3:25:38 PM GMT
  • Clock LoopClock Loop Posts: 2,069
    edited 2005-11-08 16:32
    Paul Baker said...
    This reference may help you,