Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2px -vs- other stamps questions — Parallax Forums

BS2px -vs- other stamps questions

HomeSchoolDadHomeSchoolDad Posts: 32
edited 2005-11-07 21:53 in BASIC Stamp
Greetings again,

Since I decided to use external memory I have been looking at moving my project to the BS2px for the extra speed, but as a beginner I am having trouble understanding the implications that the extra features in this stamp module actually impose or how those features translate to wiring differences between this module and the BS2pe that I am currently using.

Please excuse yet another list of questions:

1.) When I am using I2C with by BS2pe I have to use pull-up resistors. Since the BS2px has a "built-in, user-configurable Pull-up Resistor...on every I/O pin" does that mean I no longer need to have those and should ignore the I2COUT special notes that say that the pull-up resistors are required?

2.) Does the use of the 16 bit I/O expander MCP23016 complicate matters when I wire up buttons on it -vs- wiring for direct connect to the BS2px with its new features? How should the buttons be wired and features be set up if they are different on this stamp vs the other BS2 stamps?

3.) I use a 3 volt DataFlash in the design with a pull-up on the SO port. I assume I no longer would need that? I notice that the specs say the pull-up is 20 ohm and I use 4.7 resistors from a suggestion by Jon. What does that difference mean exactly and do I need to even pay attention to that difference?

4.) The spec also says there is a voltage comparitor. Can I use that to monitor battery voltage levels in some way?