Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
bonehead pbasic 2.5 question — Parallax Forums

bonehead pbasic 2.5 question

TaylortronicTaylortronic Posts: 20
edited 2005-11-01 15:59 in BASIC Stamp
hello, stamp programmers,

i am currently working on a datalogging/relay control project that performs logging operations every minute.· this time-based reporting has me just a little hung up.· i am new at the pbasic·but i'm sure there is a more elegant way to launch a subprogram when the minute changes than the clunky method that i'm using.
right now, my program uses a variable that is defined as minutes and another called minutewatcher.· minutewatcher·= minutes+1.· i've also inserted an "IF minutewatcher = minutes THEN..." exit out of the loop that the program runs through the duration of the current minute.· the minutes variable catches up to the minutewatcher variable when the minute changes and then after the datalogging subprogram minutewatcher is refreshed as minutes + 1 and returns to the original loop.
i am absolutely convinced that this is caveman programming.· it costs me a variable, and it's linear (only checks the minutes at one point in the loop instead of consistently while monitoring sensors) and i'm sure there is a cooler way to go.· does anybody know a command or technique to launch a subprogram when a time variable changes?

looking for an emoticon that checks his watch,
taylortronic

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-10-29 17:26
    It's easier to help when you post the actual code versus a description of it -- you might be off be less than you think but that's difficult to determine without seeing your working code.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,658
    edited 2005-10-30 00:14
    Hi Taylortronic,