Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Trying to find a good text for VisualBasic-->Stamp programming — Parallax Forums

Trying to find a good text for VisualBasic-->Stamp programming

TaylortronicTaylortronic Posts: 20
edited 2005-10-28 02:48 in BASIC Stamp
Hello Stamp Forum readers,

I've been working on a project that involves using my computer in conjunction with my basic stamp. Obviously this will involve communication between the computer and the stamp and I'll have to write a VB app to trade data and directions, etc. I'm a new VB programmer and I really need a great info resource for this specifically. I'm sure this is a well-trod path and I know I'm going to need to do this a lot for the kind of ideas that I have. Can anybody point me to a text or something so I can really crack down and develop this programming technique the right way?

thanks,
Taylortronic
p.s. parallax rocks!

Comments

• Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,557
    edited 2005-10-27 14:52
    For years (+20) I have been a QuickBasic programmer, and have slowly been teaching myself VisualBasic.
    Here is about the "simplest" example (<--It has to be that way for myself) of a PC talking to a Stamp using VB4...

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=549166

Scroll towards the bottom for the Visual Basic code, the top contains the Stamp code (you will need this) and Quickbasic code.

When I initially "GOOGLE'd" for an example to help me out, the application was for receiving RS232 signals into Visual Basic via the "RS232.Input" function.
    After playing around with it a bit I discovered by trial and error the "RS232.Output" function which allowed me to communicate to the Stamp.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.
  • Kevin WoodKevin Wood Posts: 1,266
    edited 2005-10-27 15:06
    Check out the VB books on www.murach.com/index.htm. They get high ratings on Amazon, and there are sample chapters for download.