Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
stamp identification question — Parallax Forums

stamp identification question

mrbogeymanmrbogeyman Posts: 9
edited 2005-10-31 16:34 in BASIC Stamp
hello all.
i'm new to the bs2 and this is my first attempt at using a bs2 to control servo motors.
i've set up the stamp on a pcb with 2 capacitors as shown in the manual (page26).
when i click on run>identify, it there's a check in the echo column for com port 1 but the 'loopback' column is left unchecked. is the 'loopback' column suppose to be left unchecked? coz the picture in the manual shows both columns being checked.

also, i'm not any good at this basic programming stuff. anyone mind giving me an example of how a pulsout code for a servo motor should look like?
thanks.

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-10-27 12:46
    The "loopback" checks a wire from pin 6 to pin 7 on the BOE board. If you leave this wire off, the "loopback" test will fail. This is supposed to be just a quick check to insure the cable is plugged in.

Just put that wire in, and you should be OK.

Oh, and that's pin 6 and pin 7 of the DB9 connector, on the BOE.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-10-27 14:00
    Hello,

·· Please give details of your system, such as Serial or USB, laptop/desktop, which board you're using and how you're powering it.· You shouldn't need to put any wires in if you're using a package you got from us.· Thanks.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • mrbogeymanmrbogeyman Posts: 9
    edited 2005-10-27 15:15
    I'm using a homemade board with 2 capacitors installed as shown in the bs manuals. i already shorted pins 6 and 7 and there is still no check in the 'loopback' column. it's connected to my pc using a straight serial cable using a windowsxp P4 desktop. thanks
  • Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-10-27 15:41
    mrbogeyman -