Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with BS2 modem connection — Parallax Forums

Help with BS2 modem connection

Tommy30Tommy30 Posts: 7
edited 2005-10-27 17:25 in BASIC Stamp
Hi,

I'm new in using the BS2. What I'm trying to do is to connect an old modem to my bs2 interface board and have the modem send out an SMS to a cellphone. I think·I know how to communicate with the modem, but I'm unsure about the connections that I need to make. I'm using an old US robotics modem. So far I did the following:

- connected pin 5(gnd) from the modem's serial cable to vss
- connected pin 3(tx) from the modem's serial cable to pin 8

I tried to·have the modem dial a number by sending the ATD command to the modem something like this:

serout 5,84,[noparse][[/noparse]"ATD12345"]

Obviously, nothing happened.

I'm not at all sure this is the way to go. ANY help would be appreciated.

I'm sorry for my crappy English.·'cause I'm Dutch, it's not my first language.

Thanx in advance.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-10-26 21:48
    Tommy,

·· Nowhere in your connections did you mention connecting anything to P5 on the BASIC Stamp.· Even if you did, the modem will be looking for RS-232 levels, and the TTL levels from the BASIC Stamp will not work.

As a side-note, you might have better luck connecting the modem to the DB9 on the Dev Board you're using.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Tommy30Tommy30 Posts: 7
    edited 2005-10-26 22:04
    Cris,

Ofcourse you're right. I made a typo in my post. The code that I actualy used was:

serout 8,84,[noparse][[/noparse]"ATD12345"], since i connected my tx lead to pin 8. (At least, that's what i intend to do confused.gif·)

BTW, i'm actualy using an USB board with my BS2, so there is no DB9 connector on my board as far as I can see.