Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
connecting Multiplexer to 7-segments LED question — Parallax Forums

connecting Multiplexer to 7-segments LED question

BornaBorna Posts: 36
edited 2005-11-04 19:11 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,
I’m working on a project with stamp II and need to display a 4 digits number to 4X7-segments LED. I have purchased MC14489BP multiplexer. Can someone please help me explain if I want to display a 4 digit number s such as 1234 which pins on the MC14489 need to be connected to which pin on the 4 X 7-segments LED? I'm very new to these stuffs and not sure about which pines get connected to which pins
·
You can see the technical data for MCI14489 at this link
http://www.jameco.com/wcsstore/Jameco/Products/ProdDS/241824MOT.pdf
·
The LED data can be found at this link
http://www.futurlec.com/LED/7SEG4RCC.shtml
·
Thanks for the help

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-10-21 18:32
    I'm a bit swamped right now, so the best I can do is share some code for you -- the MCP14489 is a little tricky and doens't lend itself to a quick explanation.· But, if you look over the product docs and my program, you'll probably figure it out without much trouble.

BTW, my November column in Nuts & Volts magazine covers the MC14489 and does go into detail.· It should hit newstands shortly.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • BornaBorna Posts: 36
    edited 2005-10-23 14:31
    Hello Jon, thanks for the replay.
    from what I underestand looks like MAX7219 is an easier to use than MCP14489

do you know if there is any difference between MAX7219 and MAX7219CNG? can both be used to drive 7-sigments LEDs?
    Thanks
    Borna
    edited 2005-10-23 14:34
    I don't know that there's any difference -- you should be able to download the spec sheet (hint, hint...) and suss it out from there.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    edited 2005-11-01 19:14
    Hi Jon