Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SERIN and the scratchpad — Parallax Forums

SERIN and the scratchpad

WriglyWrigly Posts: 9
edited 2005-10-12 15:34 in BASIC Stamp
Have a B2SE, my question concerns using SERIN and the scratchpad area. I need to take a text string rather long and put it in scratchpad area and then send it back out (SEROUT) a little later . I have seen the PUT and GET commands but see that they are byte only. I am familar with the arrays and was wondering if it was possible to still do this with the scratchpad. Needles to say I am rather new to stamps but so far very excited by them so far, any help would be great.

Thanks Wrigly

Post Edited By Moderator (Dave Andreae (Parallax)) : 10/10/2005 8:23:03 PM GMT

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2005-10-10 22:39
    When you buffer to the Scratchpad you must know how many bytes are coming in. If you do, the rest is easy: you write a loop (for the number of characters you need) that iteratest from 0 to N-1 (N is the length of your string), uses GET to retrieve a byte form the SPRAM and SEROUT to send it.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • WriglyWrigly Posts: 9
    edited 2005-10-11 12:05
    Ok to add a twist of take it a step further into the app, I have no way of knowing the exact length of the string it can be 4 to 40 bytes but I can add a EOM (end of meesage) indentifier to the incoming ASCII text coming in thru the SERIN. Would this help with not knowing the exact length and thanks for the reply.

Wrigly
  • StampUSRStampUSR Posts: 48
    edited 2005-10-11 14:06
    "Have a B2SE, my question concerns using SERIN and the scratchpad area. I need to take a text string rather long and put it in scratchpad area and then send it back out (SEROUT) a little later."