Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
bs2 voltage regulator app — Parallax Forums

bs2 voltage regulator app

nickenicke Posts: 1
edited 2005-10-07 14:06 in BASIC Stamp
i need to write an application that i can regulate voltage to a fan so i can controll the fan speed and also regulate voltage to an heat line. im kinda new to this so be nice [noparse]:)[/noparse]
its all to an microsupport product to an project in school. any help would be appreciated.

Niclas

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-10-06 14:03
    Hello,

·· Do you have any idea how you want to go about this?· It sounds like a DAC might be what you'll need.· Possibly more than one from your message.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2005-10-06 16:39
    It all depends on what type of fan you are using, if there is a control voltage, the DAC is the way to go, if its just one of those standard computer fans (DC), typically the power is pulse width modulated (PWM).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    ·1+1=10
  • SteelSteel Posts: 313
    edited 2005-10-06 17:29
    yup.· The PWM command will rock your boxers.
    edited 2005-10-06 19:53
    If you look in the help file you will find the PWM command isn't really designed to control the type of motors Paul was referring to.· You would need a co-processor chip, such as the PWMPAL for something like that.· If it has a DC motor you can use either voltage or PWM.· But the voltage control is more limited, although simpler to implement.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
    edited 2005-10-06 20:00
    This is a little off topic, but it may help Niclas decide which to use, if both are possible avenues.