Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using a relay on a WAM board? — Parallax Forums

Using a relay on a WAM board?

Sun1ShineSun1Shine Posts: 10
edited 2005-10-05 16:54 in BASIC Stamp
I have been trying to use a Aromat DS2E-M-DC5V relay ( I have a bunch of them) on my three WAM boards using the 2n3904 NPN, a 4148 diode, and a 10K resister to the i/o pin 14.· It doesn't work.· If I power the relay directly from Vdd and Vss then it works but I can't get the stamp to operate it.

I would like to operate a number of halloween project windshield wiper motors (12v at 2A), ref/ scary terry site.

Any help would be most appreciated...I'm not a electrical engineer.·· If a different relay·must be used, is required instead·(one I can run over to Radioshack to get) let me know....

I have tried all of the WAM experiements and had no trouble running them and making all kinds of mod's but am surprised a relay was not included in the experiments.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-10-03 15:57
    Hello,

·· The 10K resistor is too high to allow the transistor to bias.· Try a 1K instead.· Are you using the Homework Board or the Board Of Education?· Which revision?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • Sun1ShineSun1Shine Posts: 10
    edited 2005-10-03 16:45
    I am using the Homework Board, rev b. I have tried 470ohm, too, but it didn't work.
    edited 2005-10-03 16:57
    Not sure how you're connecting things.· The Stamp I/O pin would normally go through the resistor (470 ohms is fine) into the base of the transistor.· The emitter would go to ground, and the collector would connect to one side of the relay coil.· The other side would connect to +5V.· Your diode would connect across the relay coil in such a manner that the cathode was on the side of the coil connected to +5V.