Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
AC selsyns — Parallax Forums

AC selsyns

johnbsaxonjohnbsaxon Posts: 2
edited 2005-09-22 02:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hi to all:

My name is John Saxon and this is my first post - I hope I don't do anything wrong :-)

I am an embedded software developer, but·new to the Basic Stamp world.· So far, I have been very impressed with what I have seen.

I have an interest in WWII aviation and have written 2 programs that simulate flying WWII B-29 missions (www.b-29softworks.com).· I have hooked up with a guy who has a B-29 flight deck and we are making a B-29 sim using *actual WWII instruments*.

I have purchased the professional development board, the 2p40 stamp and have been breadboarding some D/A, A/D, etc.· I have lotsa documentation, including schematics, and have noted that a lot of the B-29 instruments are AC selsyns.

I searched this forum and didn't find any reference to selsyns.· Does anyone have any experience interfacing Basic Stamps to a selsyn device?· I think I could take two instruments, connect and power up, and rotate the shaft of one (the transmitter) and the indicator (receiver) would track.· But I would like to investigate simulating the output of a selsyn transmitter with a Stamp, or Stamps.

Thanks,
John

·

Comments

• steve_bsteve_b Posts: 1,563
    edited 2005-09-20 19:14
    Welcome to the wonderful world of Stamping John!
    Just to note, I'm just a fellow hobbyist and am in no way affiliated with Parallax, except that I'm a purchaser of quality items (does it sound like I'm kissing butt...I am! haha)

You'll find that the quickest response you can get from most posts here, is to include as much information as is relavent.
    How about a website for these AC selsyns (sure I can google....but it's easier -- i'm lazy!)?
    What kind of signals are we looking at!?

I'm assuming (from the sounds of "rotate the shaft of one (the transmitter) and the indicator (receiver) would track") this is a synchro type of setup?