Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Fried my BS2? — Parallax Forums

Fried my BS2?

orjonorjon Posts: 2
edited 2010-11-04 09:01 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I'm pretty new to all this and have been struggling recently with a rather strange problem, possibly a result from having over-loaded my BS2.

As a test I have the following code to turn some LED's on and off;

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

led VAR Byte

DO

FOR LED = 0 TO 3
HIGH LED
PAUSE 1000
LOW LED
PAUSE 50
NEXT

LOOP

the LED's have 470 ohm resistors attached.

The code loads fine, and runs smoothly at first, then starts to speed up or slow down, the latter LED's stop working, followed by the first led blinking on it's own and eventually nothing happens at all!

I guess I've answered my own question - it's buggered right?

Can anyone please tell me if this sounds like the type of damage possible form overloading a BS2 with too many led's (7sed displays)?

thank you, orjon.

Comments

• Tom WalkerTom Walker Posts: 509
    edited 2005-09-19 19:49
    Try declaring LED as a PIN instead of a byte and see what happens. (It appears that you are trying to cycle through 4 LEDs...what is your reference to "7sed displays"?...unless you are referring to 7-segment displays - in which case we would need a schematic or better explanation in order to effectively help...)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Truly Understand the Fundamentals and the Path will be so much easier...
  • orjonorjon Posts: 2
    edited 2005-09-19 20:03
    Tom

thanks for the speedy reply.... "LED var PIN", if that's what you meant, returned with a "Expected a variable", so I've simplified the code to the following and still the same things happens. For this simple test program I'm using just four normal LED's and four 470 resistors;

' {$STAMP BS2}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

DO

HIGH 0
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW 0
    PAUSE 50

HIGH 1
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW 1
    PAUSE 50

HIGH 2
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW 2
    PAUSE 50

HIGH 3
    PAUSE 1000
    LOW 3