Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD to use and LCD features? — Parallax Forums

LCD to use and LCD features?

egereger Posts: 9
edited 2005-09-13 05:14 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to BASIC Stamps and when I first found out about these microcontrollers I was fascinated and had to have one.
I'm pretty new to circuits and programming. But I have been taking apart electronics and fixing·things for years. I guess that is why I am so interested in these stamps!

I have been playing with my·stamp and a 2x16 char LCD with an HD44780 driver. Took me a while to figure out the correct pinout and wiring for the LCD to the dev board. I finally got it working and was just making it display text and some custom characters.

Maybe someone could answer some questions for me here, I didn't know where to ask. I think these mostly pertain to LCD's and not the BS2.

·- The LCD I have uses a HD44780 driver. I looked at the setup for a serial controlled LCD and it looked like it only needed 1 data wire!. Is there any advantage to using parallel over serial or is serial just much easier to use in this application?
·- Would a serial LCD module such as this work with a BS2 and even be able to use the buttons? http://www.crystalfontz.com/products/633/index.html
·- I was looking up how to ramp current (for fading an LED for example) and discovered the PWM command·can do this. Is it possible to use PWM command to control LCD contrast or backlight via software?

My first project with my BS2 will be using 2 LCD's and some buttons to browse menus so I was hoping something like link above might be possible to use with minimal IO pins.

Any info is appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments

• knightofoldcodeknightofoldcode Posts: 233
    edited 2005-09-12 07:01
    eger said...
    I'm new to BASIC Stamps and when I first found out about these microcontrollers I was fascinated and had to have one.