Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Real Time Clock on Professional Development Board? — Parallax Forums

Real Time Clock on Professional Development Board?

jcpolejcpole Posts: 92
edited 2005-08-31 21:48 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all...

I'm new to the Stamp, and to its interfaces, and I was wondering if anyone had some sample code to set the time & date, as well as to read the time & date from the embedded real time clock on the Professional Development Board? The Stamp itself is a BS2px. I'm also very curious as to the best way to actually connect to the clock hardware - all of the code I have seen so far reflects a 3-wire connection to the clock on the board that the PDB replaced. Unless I'm reading the datasheet wrong, I should only need 2 wires for the clock on the PDB. Is this incorrect?

Finally, is there an easy way to output the time from the clock to the 7-segment LEDs on the PDB? How about to a 2x16 LCD?

I'm researching security applications, so having access to the correct time & date is crucial.

Thanks in advance.

Jamie

--
Jamie C. Pole
Principal Consultant
J.C. Pole & Associates, Inc.
http://www.jcpa.com/

Post Edited (jcpole) : 8/31/2005 3:21:12 AM GMT

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-08-31 03:49
    Hello,

·· Jon Williams recently uploaded some code for the BS2 and BS2p for the DS1307.· I have attached it since I cannot seem to find the thread.· I hope this helps.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • jcpolejcpole Posts: 92
    edited 2005-08-31 05:31
    Thanks very much for the code...

When I run either program, pressing either button to set the hours & minutes results in both values incrementing by 1. The wiring is pretty straightforward, so I'm kinda stumped about why both buttons increment both values.

Any ideas about that?

Jamie

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    --
    Jamie C. Pole
    Principal Consultant