Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controlling a piezo buzzer and a LED with a push-button. — Parallax Forums

Controlling a piezo buzzer and a LED with a push-button.

quotidianquotidian Posts: 5
edited 2005-08-26 16:10 in BASIC Stamp
Aloha,
·
I’m a newbie. I searched the old posts but couldn’t find an answer to my question.
·
I want to control an LED and a Piezo buzzer simultaneously with a push-button. For example, when the button is pressed, the LED lights up and the buzzer makes a sound; when the user lets up on the button, the LED goes off and the buzzer is silent.
·
Here is the code I've been using:
·
DO
·IF (IN8 = 1) THEN 'If the button in Input8 is pressed then . . .
··· HIGH 7 'the LED in Input7 will light up
··· FREQOUT 12, 1000, 2000 'the speaker in Input12 will sound for 1 second (tone 2000)
·
· ELSE
··· LOW 7· 'the LED turns off
·
· ENDIF
·
LOOP
·
As expected, the buzzer sounds for 1 second and then turns off; the LED does the same. I reduced the FREQOUT duration to 100 milliseconds. Although this made the buzzer more responsive to letting up on the push-button, the sound was not adequate.
·
Is there a way to “trick” the buzzer into “following” the commands of the push-button, without it losing its sound quality from the aforementioned code?
·
Any suggestions, sample code, moral support, etc. is greatly appreciated.
·
Thanks in advance.
·
Dean

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2005-08-26 01:35
    Dean,

·· You probably won't get that kind of responsiveness without using an external buzzer of tone generator triggered by the I/O pin the same way the LED is.· The FREQOUT command requires a duration parameter.· You can't force it off by letting go of the button.· Sorry.· You could pull something like this off using an SX and SX/B though.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • FlyingFishFingerFlyingFishFinger Posts: 461