Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Current draw LED when less than 1.6V supplied — Parallax Forums

Current draw LED when less than 1.6V supplied

metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
edited 2005-08-19 13:15 in BASIC Stamp
I am finally getting back to working with my Basic Stamp Homework board I bought last year.
As I have no education in electronics I go slow and try to understand each component I work with
I am a programmer going back to assembler on the 6502 chips so I know my way around software.

Putsin with a Capacitor, an LED and my Multimeter and some programming I wanted to time the voltage drain of the capacitor
I don't have an occoliscope to see the exact voltage vs time. My question is, using only the LED to draw power from the capacitor
is it a linear draw down or is there more or less drawdown of the voltage as the voltage drops. I suspect adding a resistor to pull down
the voltage would be linear but after the LED goes out the volt meter dropa very slowly so I suspect there is little or no current draw once the LED actually turns off because of low voltage.

Correct?

The project I am working on will be reading a voltage spike from 0 to 70 volts or so and using a known loop count for 5 volts to draw down
I can estimate the voltage spike by the length of time it takes to draw the cap down. Assuming a few things and point out where I am wrong
1. I track how long the voltage spike lasts
2. The capacitor charge rate is linear. That is to say if the spike lasts 1/10 of a second at 25 volts it would take the capacitor 5 times longer to drop than the same charge time at 5 volts.
3. I use a resistor instead of a LED to keep the drawdown constant.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

Ct VAR Word

LOW 0            ' Pull Cap to 0 volts
PAUSE 1000
HIGH 0           ' Turn on 5 volts
PAUSE 1000
INPUT 0          ' Make pin null so it won't effect drawdown
ct=0
Cloop:
ct=ct+1          ' Count till pin0 falls to less than 1.? volts
IF IN0=1 THEN Cloop
DEBUG ? ct

DEBUG "end"