Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Pylon from the Past — Parallax Forums

Pylon from the Past

michaeljmichaelj Posts: 2
edited 2005-08-18 21:52 in BASIC Stamp
Hi everyone,

I'm new to electronics and I'm new to this forum. I have a project I'm working on and I think I know just enough to get myself into trouble. I thought I'd run it quickly by the community and see if anyone can point me in the correct direction.

Project Summary:

I have constructed a pylon not unlike that from Land of the Lost for a Burningman art installation. The idea is that inside there is a pedestal, and on the pedestal is a small custom interface. The interface has six sockets. Each socket is shaped like an upside down, four-sided pyramid. Nearbly are 'crystals' (which I've cast in polyurethane) of three different colors. The 'crystals' are in the shap of octahedra so one half will fit into the socket.

The premise is that the pylon is·a device to listen back through time. The user places the colored crystals into each of the colored sockets and presses a button. He or she then hears a recorded sound. The sounds range from lectures on philosophy to physics, nature sounds, historic moments, etc. Because there are three colors of crystal and six sockets there should be 732 possible sounds.

I plan to build a STAMP project that reads input from six separate color sensors. Based on the result, it should play a specific MP3 from a memory card or do nothing (if a crystal is missing).

Where I am so far:

I bought the USB Basic Stamp Discovery kit and I've gone through the book with all of the sample experiments.
I bought a TCS230 color sensor module, I've hooked it up, and it's working fine.
I bought the Rougue Robotics uMP3 player; it arrives today. I've read the schematics and it makes sense to me and I think I'll be fine interfacing with it.

Where I am having difficulties/concerns: